The trails within the Cinque Terre National Park were built not for recreational purposes, but rather as transportation routes between agricultural land, villages and sancturaies. A hike along these paths will not only offer you the chance to view breathtaking scenery, but will also give you a look into the past of this beautiful and unique area of Italy. Follow the footsteps of worshipers who for centuries climbed these paths to reach the hillside sanctuaries. Retrace the routes of the locals who traveled on foot and with mules to deliver their wine and grapes to nearby villages. There is so much to explore and discover!

Click on the red and white trail markers below to learn more about each trail.

The Cinque Terre trails are quite rugged and in many areas narrow and without protection. It is essential to wear proper hiking shoes and clothing. The landscape is quite fragile, and the hillsides are susceptible to landslides during rainy weather. In the event of bad weather, trails may be closed, so be sure to check at one of the Cinque Terre National Park information centers for trail information before setting out on a hike. If you will be hiking on any of the secondary trails, we recommend that you purchase a detailed trail map, and be sure to stay only on marked paths. The trails are marked with a red and white stripe.


Main Trails:


Il Termine – Portovenere

Known as the “Alta Via” or “High Path” of the Cinque Terre, this trail runs along the ridge of mountains that divide the Cinque Terre and the Vara River Valley.

Levanto – Telegrafo

Known as the “Blue Path”, this is the most well-known of all the Cinque Terre trails. It runs along the coast, connecting the 5 villages of the Cinque Terre. A fee is required to enter this path on the segments from Monterosso to Riomaggiore. The “Cinque Terre Card” can be purchased at any of the national park offices, and includes entrance to Trail SVA.

Secondary Trails

Trail N. 01

Riomaggiore – Sella La Croce

Trail N. 02

Manarola – Sella M. Galera

Trail N. 3

Riomaggiore – Telegrafo

Trail N. 3a

Riomaggiore – Telegrafo

Trail N. 6

Manarola – Aia del Cane

Trail N. 6d

Volastra – Case Pianca

Trail N. 7

Vernazza – La Cigoletta

Trail N. 7a

Corniglia – Prato del Monte (La Cigoletta)

Trail N. 8

Vernazza – Foce di Drignana

Trail N. 8b

Il Termine – Madonna di Reggio

Trail N. 9

Monterosso – Madonna di Soviore

Trail N. 10

Monterosso – Sant’Antonio